MHS Presents Fall Musical, Cinderella

 Minneapolis High Schools’ production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella (Enchanted Edition)  will be performed Friday and Saturday night, November 17 and 18 at 7:00 pm in the Minneapolis High School auditorium.  While there will be tickets available the night of the performance, advance tickets can be purchased at the Minneapolis High School office during school hours for $10.00 (premium seats) and $5.00. The musical is suitable for all audiences, and we children to wear their princess dresses to the performances if they wish to do so.  Momentoes of the performance, including miniature glass slippers filled with candy, miniature carriages, and mini crowns, are available for $1.00 and $3.00.

Cinderella (Enchanted Edition), with music by Richard Rodgers and Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, was adapted for the Stage by Tom Briggs from the Teleplay by Robert L. Freedman. The edition which MHS is performing is an updated version of the teleplay debuting in 1957 starring Julie Andrews, which was the most widely viewed program in the history of the medium. Its recreation in 1965 starring Lesley Ann Warren was no less successful in transporting a new generation to the miraculous kingdom of dreams-come-true.  In 1997, the musical was produced on television once again, starring Brandy as Cinderella and Whitney Houston as her Fairy Godmother.  MHS audiences will enjoy the stage adaptation of this version which includes new songs such as “There’s Music in You,” along with timeless numbers such as “Ten Minutes Ago,” “The Prince is Giving a Ball,” “In My Own Little Corner,” and “Impossible.”

The cast members are Cinderella-Lauren Gragg; Prince Christopher-Gunner Campbell; Fairy Godmother- Kalee Probasco; Lionel (steward)-Levi Ausherman; Stepmother-Zoey Rankin; Grace  (stepsister)-Caroline Giles; Joy (stepsister)-Taton Smith; Queen Constantina-Alexa Scott; King Maximillian-Brenden Strickert; White Mice/Horses-Jordan Bell, Isabel Baringer, Katelynn Kuder, Rose Koelling; Cat-Carlean Sanders; Dove/Footmen-Clayton Tunison, Nick Harding; Town Crier-Tristin Hauck; Captain of the Guard-Tyson Villalpando; Chef-Keaton Williamson; Tailor-Olivia Jones; Village Maidens-Reagan Smith, LeeAnn Johnson, Paeton Smith, Aiclyn Eller; Village Men-Dayton Randall, Dakota Davis, Isaac Smith, Sam Plummer, Brendan Shanks, Tre-Vaughn Thomas, and Clayton Goddard.  

Student technical directors are Bridget Lott-Sound, Scott Kuder and D.J. Green-lights, and Felipe Contreras and Courtney Walker-backstage.   Crew members include Austin Roth, Rico Smith, Keagon Williamson, Kaysie Grigg, Zoie Shupe, Grace Parks, Kenny Kirk, Claire Lichtenwalter, Harlee Small, Chloe Probasco, Emily Donovan, Michael Prue, Adam Reed, Trent Brubaker, Rory Blochlinger, William Clever, and Braeden Jackson.

The play will be directed by Jan Clark and Dennis Brooks, and Parker Roth will be accompanying the cast.